Background

Everyone of us consumes peat on a daily basis: either directly as potting soil or indirectly by consuming fruit and vegetables grown on peat. Peat is the most important and so far irreplaceable ingredient for the production of high quality growing media in horticulture. For this purpose 3 million cubic metres of low humified peatmoss peat are used annually in Germany only. Worldwide consumption amounts to 30 million cubic metres, which will be emitted into the atmosphere as CO2 after short time usage.

Low humified moss peat is formed in functioning peatlands by the peat moss Sphagnum. The peat mosses grow at the tip and die off at the bottom and in their waterlogged and acidic environment part of the plant matter becomes preserved and accumulates as low humified moss peat. In this manner a raised bog grows slowly upwards, about one millimetre per year.

In order to mine the moss peat for horticultural purposes, the fragile bog ecosystem is destroyed by drainage and the peat which took millennia to accumulate is mined in a matter of a few years. The carbon content which was stored within the peat is released as CO2 into the atmosphere after a relatively short period of time. With the peat strata being mined there also disappears a whole “archive“of landscape and human history.

As the resources of minable moss peat are almost exhausted in Western Europe, the German peat and compost industry increasingly imports moss peat from ever more distant regions. Since the fall of the Iron Curtain the peat comes mostly from the Baltic States in Eastern Europe. Germany as the currently largest producer and user of peat in commercial horticulture imported 1.8 million cubic metres of moss peat in 2006.

The potential economical consequences of increasingly longer import distances and scarcity of moss peat could be price increases of the growing media and an exodus of the horticultural industry out of Germany.

So far there has not been an alternative to peat that is equal in quality, at a similar price and available in large amounts.

Sphagnum biomass has the same properties as low humified moss peat and has been successfully tested in horticultural trials.

The cultivation of Sphagnum and the potential in the application of Sphagnum biomass have been/are investigated in four research projects at Ernst-Moritz-Arndt University of Greifswald.

Bildergalerie

Ausgangssituation

Jeder von uns verbraucht täglich Torf: als Blumenerde und durch den Verzehr von Obst und Gemüse. Torf ist der wichtigste und bislang unersetzbare Rohstoff zur Herstellung von hochwertigen Substraten für den Gartenbau. Allein in Deutschland werden dafür jährlich 3 Mio. m³ Weißtorf verbraucht - weltweit sind es 30 Mio. m³ - und nach kurzer Nutzung als CO2 in die Atmosphäre freigesetzt.

Weißtorf wird in lebenden, nassen Mooren von Torfmoosen gebildet. Die Torfmoose wachsen und sterben ab, werden aber durch die wassergesättigten und sauren Bedingungen im Moor nur wenig zersetzt und akkumulieren so als Weißtorf. Auf diese Weise wächst das Moor Schicht für Schicht ganz langsam in die Höhe, etwa einen Millimeter pro Jahr.

Um den Weißtorf als Substrat zu nutzen, werden die sensiblen Ökosysteme entwässert, zerstört und die in Tausenden von Jahren gewachsenen Moore in wenigen Jahren abgegraben (in Deutschland erfolgt Torfabbau heute nur noch auf landwirtschaftlich vorgenutzten Mooren.). Der im Torf langfristig festgelegte Kohlenstoff wird nach kurzer Nutzung als CO2 in die Atmosphäre freigesetzt. Mit dem Torf verschwinden zudem Archive der Landschafts- und Menschheitsgeschichte unwiederbringlich.

Da die Vorräte an abbaubarem Weißtorf in West- und Mitteleuropa nahezu erschöpft sind, importiert die Deutsche Torf- und Humuswirtschaft zunehmend Weißtorf aus immer entfernteren Regionen der Erde - seit der Öffnung des „Eisernen Vorhangs“ überwiegend aus den Baltischen Staaten. Deutschland als derzeit europaweit größter Torfproduzent und -nutzer im Erwerbsgartenbau importierte 2006 1,8 Mio. m³ Torf (überwiegend Weißtorf) zur gartenbaulichen Nutzung.

Die wirtschaftlichen Konsequenzen, resultierend aus den längeren Transportwegen und einer Verknappung des Weißtorfs, können eine Verteuerung der Substrate oder eine Abwanderung des Gartenbaus aus Deutschland sein.

Eine gleichwertige Alternative zu Torf im Gartenbau, die vergleichbar in Qualität und im Preis ist und in großen Mengen verfügbar sein könnte, fehlte bislang.

Biomasse von Torfmoosen hat die gleichen Eigenschaften wie Weißtorf und konnte in pflanzenbaulichen Versuchen erfolgreich getestet werden.

Die Kultivierung von Torfmoosen und die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten der Torfmoos-Biomasse wurden und werden in verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten an der Universität Greifswald untersucht.

Bildergalerie